Narendra Modi will award the Bharat Ratna, India's highest civilian honour, to former Prime Ministers PV Narasimha Rao and Charan Singh and "Green Revolution" pioneer MS Swaminathan.

The announcement is attributed to the upcoming elections, with five recipients announced in a year, one more than the four announced in 1999. 

The Bharat Ratna award traditionally bestows three individuals annually, but the current Modi administration has announced five recipients for this year. 

Sena (UBT) leader Sanjay Raut said the Centre's Bharat Ratna awards announcement didn't mention Hindutva icon Veer Savarkar or Shiv Sena founder Bal Thackeray.  

Raj Thackeray, the leader of the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, has called for Bal Thackeray, a prominent figure in Maharashtra politics and the founder of Shiv Sena, to be awarded the Bharat Ratna. 

Thackeray referred to Bal Thackeray as the "Hindu Hriday Samrat," stating that the government should demonstrate political magnanimity by bestowing the Bharat Ratna upon Bal Thackeray. 

Maharashtra leaders have previously requested the Bharat Ratna for Bal Thackeray on multiple occasions. 

According to the announcement made by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Bharat Ratna Award will be given to former Prime Ministers.