Four Shankaracharyas, prominent spiritual leaders of Sanatan Hindu Dharma, have chosen not to attend the 'pran prathistha' (consecration) ceremony of Lord Ram in Ayodhya on January 22.

Three of the four Shankaracharyas have expressed support for the ceremony, but also voiced opposition to the rituals being observed.

The opposition has raised concerns about the governing BJP about the nonattendance of esteemed spiritual leaders at the grand celebration.

The Shankaracharyas have refuted media reports claiming their opposition to the consecration event as "inaccurate."

The four main monasteries or mutts built by the eighth-century Hindu saint Adi Shankara are led by the Shankaracharyas.

Swami Nishchalanand Saraswati, Puri's Govardhan math Shankaracharya, withdrew from the Ram temple event because the consecration rites violated scripture.

Jyotir math Shankaracharya Avimukteshwaranand Saraswati expressed that the prescribed ceremonies for the temple opening were not being adhered to according to the shastras.

Champat Rai, Shri Ram Janmabhoomi Teerth Kshetra's general secretary, said the Ram temple belongs to Vaishnavite Ramananda Sampradaya, not sanyasis, Shaiva, or Shaktis. Avimukteshwaran and Saraswati disagreed.

The inauguration of the Ram temple is scheduled for January 22, with the commencement of the ceremonial ceremonies scheduled for January 16.